Of late, I have been thinking about advice. How we give it and how we receive it. I have given advice to a lot of people who have met me on my life journey and most of it has been about staying it out when you feel like giving up. I have used some of the stories in my life to show them how patience works out in the end but at the same time being aware of timing for anything. Opportunities missed can never be regained.

Luckily enough, I have been able to receive my advice from mainly literature. The wisdom that comes from books is rattling. I don’t know who said this; ‘If you want to hide anything just put in books.’ That is where all our best friends, psychologists, guardian angels are concealing their identities in broad day public libraries.

While reading about all the best advice people in the world have ever received, you borrow some of it and make it your mantra. Advice like;

  • Believe in yourself
  • Stick to your guts
  • You are Enough
  • Everything happens for a reason
  • Be Clear about your intention and the universe will meet you wherever you are

the best advice I have ever received came from a male friend. It was not about being strong or trusting in the journey, it was about keeping my legs together. This should have come from my mother or aunt but it was from a boy. He said however smart, strong and courageous as you might be, make sure you have the will power to keep those legs together. It was hilarious at first but as I grew older, I realized he was right. If I didn’t have the will power, I would not be able to build my dreams. His point was not about getting pregnant but about waiting for the right fish, moment, knowing what I want and valuing my life. If I understood the worth of one part of the body, it would mean I could take care of the needs of other parts. Would I advise another person to keep their legs together? Maybe. Who am I to get into other people’s way of living if they choose to do whatever they want with their bodies? I wouldn’t want to be sued for forcing ideas on to others. Live large and enjoy the consequences.

Leave a Reply

